The Score – Fugees – 8.9

Just less than a year before I was born, in 1996, Wyclef Jean, Lauryn Hill and Pras Michel came together again to deliver The Score under the name Fugees. A reggae flavoured, soulful hip hop album that at the time was competing against the likes of Illmatic and Reasonable Doubt. Yet The Score still managed to be a big hit, with the radio smash Killing Me Softly and other cuts like Ready Or Not and Fu-Gee-La (as well as it’s three following remixes). Performance wise, for me Lauryn Hill steals the show and kills every verse she spits with venom and such a cool confidence. Then comes her ability to go from rapping to singing to give The Score it’s pop appeal. Wyclef Jean and Pras are very good too, but Hill leaves the bigger impression. Listening to this album, it’s clear how influential the individual artists and the overall sound of this album has been on today’s artists. Overall, The Score is a very pleasant and enjoyable album that may not be the most acclaimed album of the 90’s, but for an album that blends, reggae, pop and hip hop, it’s pretty damn good.

1. Red Intro – N/A
2. How Many Mics – 8.5
3. Ready Or Not – 8.8
4. Zealots – 8.8
5. The Beast – 8.9
6. Fu-Gee-La – 9
7. Family Business – 8.6
8. Killing Me Softly With His Song – 9.3
9. The Score – 9
10. The Mask – 9.1
11. Cowboys – 9
12. No Woman, No Cry – 8.7
13. Manifest/Outro – 8.9
14. Fu-Gee-La (Refugee Camp Remix) – 8.9
15. Fu-Gee-La (Sly & Robbie Remix) – 8.9
16. Mista Mista – 7.9
17. Fu-Gee-La (Refugee Camp Global Remix) – 8.9