What A Time To Be Alive – Drake & Future – 8.2

1. Digital Dash – 8.3
2. Big Rings – 8.6
3. Live From The Gutter – 8
4. Diamonds Dancing – 8.8
5. Scholarships – 8.3
6. Plastic Bag – 7.9
7. I’m The Plug – 7.6
8. Change Locations – 7.6
9. Jumpman – 8.8
10. Jersey – 8.1
11. 30 For 30 Freestyle – 7.8

Considering this joint album from 2 of the most popular artists in rap was made within the space of a week, it’s not half bad. Jumpman came as a huge hit but Drake and Future’s What A Time To Be Alive doesn’t fully deliver a sold piece of work in my opinion. Both Drake and Future do well, but that’s it, it’s not ground breaking but it’s not bad by any means. It serves its purpose well, to bring the hype of these 2 artists coming together and delivering the lit vibe that both artists are so good at. I’d say the majority of the tracks are okay but there are some standout songs such as Big Rings, Jumpman and Diamonds Dancing. Those for me are the 3 best songs, the rest are okay but pretty forgettable. For me, when 2 artists come together for a joint project, it needs to push boundaries and be a exceptional, not just basic and generic like this is. So overall, What A Time To Be Alive is an acceptable body of work that sounds good for certain situations but I can’t help thinking that it could have been so much more.